Universal Muslim Season

When Muslims pass each other, we greet one another with peace: “AsalaamuAlaikum.”  Getting or giving a greeting of peace from a stranger makes my day.

I always say AsalaamuAlaikum to women that are clearly identified (i.e. with hijab).  Usually the salaam is returned with a smile.  But after a stream of awkward salaams, I realized that in the winter time, everyone looks Muslim!

Bundled up in layers with scarves and hats, we all look the same.  I love the universality of that, and although not everyone understands my salaams, I wish peace upon everyone, in winter and summer alike.

The Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him) said: “O (my) people, spread greetings (of peace), feed people (in need), keep ties of kinship, and pray during the night while the others sleep, and you will enter paradise in peace.”

Fiqh-us-Sunnah, Volume 2, Number 21

 

