Stony Run Trail in the Dark

Fitting in enough miles on weekdays to make it to work by 9am sometimes means running before sunrise, just after Fajr (dawn). Last week, Amy pitched a radical idea that has since become a favorite: to run our local trail in the early morning. After completing the Fajr prayer, I dress to run in the dark, with a makeshift headlight (actually a bike light strapped around my waist with a fuel belt) so that I could see, and a reflective vest so that I could be seen. The first such run felt surreal. Stepping onto the trail, magnified white by snow, and surrounded by darkness, my everyday trail that I know so well suddenly felt like an orb from outer space:

night_trail

To announce the emergence of the sun, the skies burst into layers of colors, reminding me of the celestial:

sunrise_linkwood

This experience of running from Night to Day and experiencing both so profoundly reminded me of a verse from the Holy Quran:

“We have made the Night and the Day as two Signs. The Sign of the Night we have obscured, while the Sign of the Day we have made to enlighten you; that ye may seek bounty from your Lord, and that ye may know the number and count of the years: all things we have explained in detail.” Quran, 17:22

Stony Run Trail: Accessible from Linkwood Drive and University Parkway in Charles Village (Baltimore)

