Ginger Date Chews

For a long time, I’ve been working to develop a ginger chew recipe, and I’m thrilled with this latest concoction, inspired by Iraqi date-based desserts.

Ginger and Dates

  1. Pit and smash dates
  2. Crush fresh ginger root
  3. Combine dates and ginger
  4. Form into balls
  5. Enjoy!

 

 

 

 

These ginger chews provide the perfect nourishment for running, healing, and general life activities. I am drawn to these ingredients because  they are both distinguished in the Holy Qur’an:

  • وَهُزِّي إِلَيْكِ بِجِذْعِ النَّخْلَةِ تُسَاقِطْ عَلَيْكِ رُطَبًا جَنِيًّا

Translation: and shake toward you the trunk of the palm-tree; it will drop upon you ripe, fresh dates. 19:25

 

  • وَيُسْقَوْنَ فِيهَا كَأْسًا كَانَ مِزَاجُهَا زَنجَبِيلًا

Translation: And in that [paradise] they will be given to drink of a cup flavored with ginger. 76:17

In the first verse above, from Chapter 19 of the Holy Qur’an, called “Maryam,” God commands Lady Mary through the Angel Gabriel to take dates after giving birth to Prophet Jesus.

In the second verse, from Chapter 76, called “Al-Insan,” which translates to “Human,” God describes Paradise and mentions a ginger-like drink for its blessed inhabitants.

To enjoy dates and ginger connects me to the mother of Jesus and the denizens of paradise, respectively. If I feel fatigued on the run, I will contemplate the origins of my ginger date chews, and surely such remembrance will provide me with a burst of heavenly fuel.

