Boston Half-Metric Marathon

Falls Road Running sponsored a run yesterday to benefit the victims of the injured at the Boston Marathon. While the Mulligan Metric Marathon (26.2 km = 16.3 miles) had been organized months ago, the Half-Metric came into being only a few days ago. At this spur of the moment, over 200 runners showed up and registered on the spot. 100% of proceeds went to the families impacted by the Boston tragedy.   Boston Solidarity

For me, the run provided 8 miles of therapy in the form of twists and turns up and down Baltimore’s characteristic hilly terrain. Starting in Carroll Park at 42 degrees Fahrenheit and 9 mile per hour winds on this late April Sunday, I felt cold. Then I felt guilty for feeling cold. I counted two legs and two arms and the ability to run, and thought about those who could not. I felt sad all over again for the fallen and the injured. I felt moved to use the blessings that I have to help. With this mixture of coldness, sadness, guilt, and gratitude, I followed the crowd through the Gwynns Falls Trail, and reflected on the run. Usually runners run for some philanthropic cause, and there we were running for runners: the cause that ties us all together.

Many victims of the Boston tragedy remain in critical conditions, and as a Muslim, it is my duty to do everything I can to help. God commands us in the Qur’an [5:32]

“whosoever killeth a human being… it shall be as if he had killed all humankind, and whoso saveth the life of one, it shall be as if he had saved the life of all humankind.”

While I hope that donating dollars helped, I also felt that running helped, too. In the aftermath of the ugliness, we ran, sending a message of solidarity and strength–Boston style.

