Eating: The 1/3rd Rule

My favorite holiday, Ramadan, starts in less than 10 days. During this month, Muslims fast each day from dawn to sunset, fulfilling one of the five pillars of Islam. Ramadan physically and spiritually cleanses, detoxifying the body and washing away all sins. The complement of fasting is feasting, and sometimes the latter competes with the former. So in preparation for my favorite holiday, I remind myself of the 1/3rd rule, instructed by Prophet Muhammad, peace and blessings be upon him, as a way to eat moderately everyday:

stomach_full

 

On the authority of Al-Miqdaam ibn Maadiy-Karib who said: I heard the Messenger of Allah saying: “No human ever filled a vessel worse than the stomach. Sufficient for any son of Adam are some morsels to keep his back straight. But if it must be, then one third for his food, one third for his drink and one third for his breath.”

