Date Bread from 1,001 Recipes of Arabia

It’s snowing right now in Baltimore. Once it settles, I want to go outside and play (i.e. run). Right now it’s coming down too hard, so I’ve been doing the next best thing: baking.

date_bread

I made bread, inspired by my friend’s Kickstarter Project: 1,001 Recipes of Arabia. She shared with me her recipe for Date Bread:

“Ingredients:

  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 cup dates, pitted and chopped finely
  • 1 cup walnuts or pecans, chopped
  • 1 egg
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 cup warm water
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 1 teaspoon, grounded, of each: cardamom, cinnamon
  • Pinch of salt

Instructions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 450 degrees F.
  2. Soak the dates in the warm water.
  3. Sift the flour, baking powder, and salt together.
  4. With a stand/hand mixer, mix the butter well, add the sugar, and the egg. Allow to mix well.
  5. Add the flour and soaked dates gradually to the mix. Keep mixing until the dough is smooth. Then add the walnuts and mix until incorporated.
  6. Roll the dough and place in a greased loaf pan. Bake on the middle rack for about 30-45 minutes until it is a golden brown color.”

I imagine that this date bread would be perfect as a post-run snack–it is high in carbs and features dates, my all time favorite ingredient. However, it is perfect pre-run, too: rich and moist, like banana bread with a kick.  I have to pace myself to save some for later.

I can’t wait to try more recipes from 1,001 Recipes of Arabia, and I hope you will check it out, too.

